KEVIN T VU

up & down

Posted in personal, photo essays, projects, work by Kevin Vu on May 19, 2009

©kevintvu_019

caballero passing on the road. mexico. from ‘el laberinto’ series.

 

life has been hard and i dont think it’s going to get any easier. but i’ve been fortunate in my life to have a community that is enduring. trying to make it in photography is arduous. so i make sure to have a community of family and peers that will help me keep the faith, the faith in my vision and the faith that my passion with get me somewhere.

you need the belief that your passion and vision will last the purge. i’ve doubted so many times this past year. (just look at my previous post.)  but when i’ve gotten close to the edge, something/someone has always come to take me back. its about survival and scrapping it out for now. doing whatever is needed of you/me, be it getting coffee or taking out the trash for someone or some photographer. do it with passion and joy and people will see it.  but remember, do it with purpose.  dont ever be complacent about where you are in life.  

i was taught some valuable lessons from my football coaches during high school.  one of them was: ‘never settle for mediocrity.’

 

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thomas Ball said, on May 19, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    I know how you feel Kevin, but you need to keep the faith. You’re a great photographer and you will succeed, it just take’s time! Just keep getting on out there and shooting.

    By the way, I really like that photo above. Lovely mood to it.

    T

  2. paige green said, on May 23, 2009 at 4:49 am

    Me too, me too… I was just thinking on the way home, “I wonder what I am doing? I wonder what else I should be doing?”… it is a very fragile string of confidence that holds my confidence together.

    But then I think of all the other people who are out there doing it… some good some not so good… and I think, if they can do it, then I can too.

    And you can too!! Hang in there. It is teamwork.
    xo
    p

  3. grace said, on May 27, 2009 at 2:14 am

    apt. 19k believes in you 🙂


Leave a Reply

