KEVIN T VU

old friends in different places

Posted in personal by Kevin Vu on April 28, 2009

_ktv5562
aiden trying out eating with a spoon. orange, california.

_ktv5647
staying warm after a bath. orange, california.

_ktv5426
he likes to put his whole fist into his mouth. orange, california

_ktv5669
hanging out with mommy. orange, california.

i don’t know how long i’ve been back home for now. the concept of time is sucked away from thought when i am in suburbia land. luckily, i’ve been able to work on some jobs assisting with embry rucker since i’ve been back. that has helped me to pay the bills for this month.

but i have also had a lot of free time as well. and i have used that time to hang out w/ my nephew aiden. he is a cute little booger and he drools a tremendous amount.

i’ve also been able to catch up on some work that i haven’t done since i’ve been jumping around. my reality seems to catch up w/ me whenever i’m home. ie. bills and what not.

luckily, i’ve come home at the right time. i have been able to meet up with some great old friends from london who i haven’t seen for a year and a half. i caught up w/ my friends Hubert Kang and Claudia Leisinger a couple of weeks ago. They are both amazing people w/ great talent.

Today, I was able to pick my friend Paige Green. She also has a wonderful blog that inspires me to keep shooting. Once I picked her up from good o’ John Wayne airport, we caught up at my local Irish dive bar and drank guinness that was poured the correct way! It was like being back at a pub in London all over again! I have such fond memories of great conversations about life and photography while I was there. the best part of it were the friends/peers that i shared those with.

and now, one of them, paige is back in my life, only for a week, but i’ll take what i can get. i’ll be assisting her for a couple of days. she’s shooting some university students at Chapman college, which happens to be only 10 min. from me. it’ll be great fun!! She is a wonderful photographer and I’m sure I’ll have a lot to learn from her process. I can’t wait to play!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hubert said, on April 29, 2009 at 2:13 am

    Kevin how did you process these files? They look gorgeous!

    Good to hang out with you and Claudia in Los Angeles. I was super inspired by you guys. I am setting up my blog this week. I will soon post the most hilarious photo of you and Claudia.

    Have fun with Paige! Have a great shoot!

  2. claudia said, on April 29, 2009 at 9:30 am

    ha i am looking forward to that one hubert! hellooooo kevin – it was great seeing you. Thanks again a million for coming along on thursday. today I am going to pick up all the processed film and i am very excited. These shots of Aiden are sooo cool and he really does look like you!

    have a great time you two – love c

  3. Thomas Ball said, on April 30, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Hey Kevin and Paige

    In crazy beijing at the moment, but I’d love to be in LA to hang out with you guys, drinking coffee and beers and talking about photography! Anyway, I’m glad you were drinking Guinness the right way! T x


Leave a Reply

