KEVIN T VU

musings

Posted in work by Kevin Vu on March 19, 2009

_ktv3656
tourists with washington monument in the background. washington d.c.
© kevin t vu

back in nyc now. still here for 6 more days. its drizzling outside.

met w/ stephen mayes last week. he’s an incredibly smart, kind and insightful person. he gave me an hour of his time to look at my work. the meeting was more similar to a palm reading. in the sense that i didnt have to say much and stephen could read everything from my images.

i learned a great deal in that one hour. the main point i got from the meeting is that there is a tremendous amount that i still have to learn. the one question that keeps in my mind, “what are you trying to say?” and i keep playing it in my head over and over.

i thought i had clear a idea of where and what i wanted to say. stephen just turned everything upside down, in an amazingly refreshing way. so he didnt pull out the vii membership contract for me to sign, but he did give me an abundance of things to think about and work on.

Tagged with: , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thomas said, on March 25, 2009 at 12:56 am

    lucky guy Kevin…wud love to meet someone from VII. Turns out a guy I used to study with in Ireland just got taken on with them as a young photographer. His name is Don Healy. so there’s hope for us yet!

  2. susanbang said, on March 26, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Hi, I’m Hannah’s boss and I love your photos! What kind of camera/ lens do you use? I already have a camera/ lens that I love but I’m always curious what other people use. You don’t have to tell me, but thought I’d ask anyway. 🙂

  3. paige green said, on April 21, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    I wish i could have come to play in LA when Claudia and Leigh and Hubert where there… but wait!!!

    I just realized… I am coming to Orange County on the 28th – 1st… I will be working pretty seriously tues-fri afternoon but I would love to play with you one of those nights… are you around?

    I am working at Chapman, is that close to you?

    Keep up the good work. You are inspiring with your determination to meet people and your drive to keep learning.

    xop


Leave a Reply

